top of page

Family knows best

Sorry for a long pause with the blog. I and my fiancé were at Belgium for 10 days and then I have been needing some time to get my mind back to normal life. I watched today the first season of “Say YES to the DRESS”. It is an American reality show about a shop that sells wedding dresses. As much as the program is about the dresses, it is also about the people in the program: sales consultants, shop owners, brides and the different variety of people the brides have with them at the fitting.

The program made me think. Have I been too selfish or independent? I did take my fiancé and my mum with me to see the wedding venue. Anyway I have asked my fiancés opinion about everything so far, but what about my other family? Should I be more like in the movies and series and actually ask also my families opinion about the decoration of the wedding venue, their opinion about the ring (too late, since The Ring is being created at the moment!), and have my parents with me for the dress fitting and share my many many different ideas of the dress and my concerns about the food and just everything? Kinda I feel the answer is yes. After all the plan is to have only one wedding, so my family has only one chance to take part in the whole planning and creating, instead of just having them as the guests in our wedding. So far I have been just wanting to share with friends and of course with my maid of honor all the wedding excitement.

On the other hand, I know there are a few reasons why I haven’t let my family too involved. One thing is, I am almost the opposite of my mum, when it comes to clothing and wedding style. I am sure that if she had all the saying, we would have a really elegant and beautiful wedding with a white dress and a classic wedding spot. I have nothing against it, but it would lack the playful personality of me and Joery, and it might just seem too formal. With my dad, I think he would mainly just behave like any regular man, meaning that he would still let the decision for me. And what comes of my brother… Well… let’s say, I love my brother, but mainly any longer conversation between us will end in fight –sibling love.

About Joery’s family, I don’t really know. He has 3 brothers, so again, I don’t think they would really want to have much say in it other than food, drinks and music. His dad hasn’t commented in our wedding in any way. Only one who might like to be more involved with the wedding planning might be Joery’s mum, I think she might like to help with the planning in some way. Maybe I will put Joery to talk with her at some point, and then they can figure something out, maybe about Joery’s clothes?

What all this text really means is, that I think I know my family well enough. So, I already can hear their opinions without asking them, and to avoid conflict I am doing so far this planning more alone and with my maid of honor. I mean; have you seen all the drama in the program Say YES to the DRESS? Everyone has an opinion about the dress! Ofcourse, it doesn’t do harm for my family also to ask, if they want to participate more in all the planning, like invitations or decoration etc .

As a person, I am really more of a theme party type of a girl and luckily Joery is a really easy-going and fun-loving man, so our wedding will look most likely more personalized. I guess I sometimes worry, that people, who will come to our wedding, won’t feel they are in a wedding. Then I wonder, if it would be easier just to go with all the boring classics.

Then I see articles from Offbeat Bride telling about these awesome themed weddings with the wedding couples hobbies and passions as a big part of the wedding and I feel like crying. If they can, why wouldn’t we do it too? What I am trying to say is, I don’t want to feel that I have to explain our every wedding choice and maybe that is why unconsciously I have been doing things so independently. In a way, it is always good to have a bit different opinions. Just have to keep in mind, it is our wedding, not anybody else’s.

Does family know best? No. But it doesn’t do harm to ask their opinion every once in a while and let them have some of the Pre-wedding atmosphere.

By the way

We had our 1st engagement anniversary! We went to eat in a Viking restaurant and watched the Jurassic World movie in theater. May the Love be with all!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page