top of page

The Lord of The Rings


I probably shouldn’t tell this, but I can’t hold it in. I have a plan for my wedding ring! It still will have some changes to it, but I won’t tell more about that, so at least part of the look will remain secret. If you want to keep the look of the ring secret, don't read more!

What I can tell is how I and the designer from Korus Design came in to the final design. First of all, I felt I had to turn to the help of a designer, since all the rings I saw in shops just seemed too similar looking and plain for me. I didn’t want a basic diamond line ring, since this one I got from Mr. J for engagement already has diamonds in line. Also the shape of my engagement ring is a bit different from the basic –wishbone shaped, so I don’t like the gap it would form with straight line ring. And mainly one diamond rings seemed way too expensive and still kinda dead, no personality for my liking.

Next problem: what do I want from a wedding ring?

It has to be ageless in some way, so not all type of fun geeky stuff or lion shapes are ok. Most likely made of gold, to match the engagement ring. Some similar shape then engagement ring, like a wishbone or tiara shape. And preferably not too expensive!

I looked around the internet and had actually noticed few jewelry shops that keep staying in my mind. One day I found Korus Design from Etsy.com. I have really liked their style of rings, more unik and more designer look. BUT, the rings I have seen from them have seemed expensive 1 000 euros and more. Altough thei seem to have more price range after a closer look. So I decided to ask, if there is a possibility to get from them a personalized ring in the price range of 300 – 700 e. They said yes, and so started the planning.

First I sent some images of rings I had seen in Pinterest and thought they were nice, but not the one. I got fast two 3D designs of rings, but they didn’t yet get my attention. Next we had some more time to look for an idea and I actually just one day came upon these different geeky rings in Pinterest and started to play with the idea of actually having something more close to my interests.

Most of the rings were abit too much playfull and geeky for a wedding ring. But then I saw one, that actually doesn’t even make most people to think about Star Wars. It was a ring designed based on Princess Leias weapon belt. It had the correct shape and the possibilities for something different but not boring ring and yet staying ageless.

I sent the image right away to Korus Design by Etsy and asked, if they could create something based on the idea, without making it look childish. I got 3 different options from Korus Design, and choose one. It will still have some changes, but the main look you can see here:

Result is looking close to perfect!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page