top of page

Making some progress


Save the Date –cards are now at home! I can´t show them here yet, since I think it is better to first give to the people the cards before putting them here. My dad already has the card, but mainly the cards will be given starting from next week. And why next week? Because we are going to Belgium! So, we will save in post cost by delivering the cards from hand to hand, instead of posting to everyone from Finland. The real invitations probably will be sent by post anyway. And for the finnish guests, I have to figure out the addresses first.

But I do wanna talk a little about the Save the Date -cards. I am a media-assistant by profession, so it seemed only logical to design the cards myself. I was tough surprised how difficult it was to design for our self, since the critic of my own work is hard and I have always difficulties making decisions. So I have on my computer around 10 different versions and from the one we did end up choosing to use, I still had few different color variations.

For developing we ended up just using a photo developer, since it seems to be far more cheaper than using a printing company – and we could get some normal images developed at the same time too. So the cost for 35 Save the Date cards is around 13, 65 €. We have more guests then 35, but we decided that the uncles and aunts families get a shared card with our cousins, since the Save the Date cards main purpose is only to let people know to save that date. Invitations will be more personally sent.

Trip to Belgium!

As I earlier mentioned, next week we will be traveling to Belgium. We will be there around 10 days, so I will probably not write a blog while I am there. But I might be writing something about the trip when we come back.

Main reason we are going to Belgium is actually a wedding of Joerys friend. I am really excited, since this is a nice opportunity to also see a bit of an other cultures wedding. Tough I imagine they have in Belgium just as much variation in the weddings as we have in Finland. Still I am looking forward to it. This is also nice, since then Joery has been in one Finnish wedding and then I have been in one Belgium wedding.

Also we are going to Belgium so Joery can be with his family and enjoy his homelands food –fries and frituur. And I can´t wait to see their cat again! I have always been a dog person and almost a cat hater. Joerys families cat is the best cat I have ever met! She actually likes me! She sleeps often at my legs or on my chair during the nights and actually jumps on my lap by her own choice.

Also it is nice to see Joerys familie ofcourse, they are really warm people. It is actually really interesting how friendly I feel everyone in Belgium are. I am always surprised how close people are even with far relatives of theirs. Like Joerys brothers fiancés parents are even interested of getting to know me and are all friendly. Atleast what I know of finns, we hardly even know all our cousins or their otherhalfs.

I love traveling and experiencing different cultures, so having a Belgium family is a really wonderfull thing. I am happy to be a part of this other culture and I hope I will learn to be a bit more like them in time. I know I am a bit more closed person, like maybe most fins are. I want to learn the same look to life that they have. Like I got to spend a new year with Joerys brothers friends. And actually in Belgium It seems everyone you slightly know is your friend.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page